MT – Small Bump by Ed Sheeran

Your attention is like a soft blanket,
Each look,
Each word,
Wraps me tighter and tighter in.

Everything you do makes me need you more,
You have become the drug,
My permanent crutch,
All I need now is you.

Your intentions don’t match your actions,
Filling me with love,
Whilst feeling nothing,
I can’t comprehend your emptiness.

Your cruelty crushes me until I cry,
Saying those things,
But unable to say sorry,
I want you and your comfort out of my life.

But your absence grows into a hole in my heart,
Just from missing the affection,
Needing to feel special to you,
I wish I could throw away the memories.

You emerge to break me once again,
Apologies are to much to ask,
Acting as if it was all a dream,
You could cut the tension with a knife.

Hearing your words and seeing your face,
I am wrapped up again,
Stuck inside the blanket,
Suffocating slowly with each character you type.

I have to make the decision,
Between what is right,
And what is easy,
Already knowing the choice I will make.

The Song

Obviously this poem isn’t about a pregnancy, but there is something about the song which works well with this poem for me. I wrote the poem to it and hopefully the tempo integrates quite well. The reason why this song equated this piece of work is because of the ‘snuggly’ atmosphere of the song, like the soft blanket in the poem. The blanket itself represents how someone can comfort your insecurities and how over time you become dependent on them for ‘warmth’ or security or happiness I guess. And the section at the end of the song where Ed sings about the fetus being ‘torn from life’ syncs in with the last paragraph, of the choice that needs to be made because of the pain it will cause the narrator.

I think I just analysed my own work ?! Well isn’t this becoming worryingly professional. I think I have been spending to much time in English Literature class.

Tweet me @Writer_X9

Email me writerx9@gmail.com

X

7 thoughts on “MT – Small Bump by Ed Sheeran

  1. Nishita13 says:

    Hearing your words and seeing your face,
    I am wrapped up again,
    Stuck inside the blanket,
    Suffocating slowly with each character you type.

    Wonderstruck!

  2. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    🙂 great post! And I know what you mean on the analysis bit….I’ve been doing a lot of it too recently! 😀 ahhhh English!

Leave a Comment?

