STS – Persevering

Over the last 6 months I have been running, intermittently might I add, 2 miles every few days.

For the first 4 months I really couldn’t be bothered, I wavered off and on and ignored my diet and fitness plan; I would only run when I had an excessive amount of energy or pent up emotion that I had to get out. But then about 2 months ago I stood up to myself and decided that it was about time I committed to something. And that’s when I started eating better, working out and running and making an effort to care for my body more.

So at the start my time was 20 minutes for 2 miles, 10 minute miles, which is slower than average according to the internet. Day by day I worked on my time. I got quicker quite easily, already at 18 minutes by the end of week 1. But then came the struggle. You see I am extremely competitive, and started pushing myself harder. My times were consistently 17 or 18 minutes, but that just wouldn’t do. I kept pushing until I reached 16 minutes, 8 minute miles, and then I rested.

I had hit a milestone and I worked at achieving that milestone everyday that I ran. By this point I was running 3 times a week and I was exhausted. But I didn’t care, because running these 2 short miles had become my favorite thing to do. I became obsessed and so I wanted to achieve a 15 minute time.

I worked and worked for another 2 weeks, but God I couldn’t get it. I came extremely close 3 days ago, but I just couldn’t hit it.

Until today. Today I ran 2 miles in 15 minutes.

To tell the truth it isn’t just because I worked hard, it’s because I persevered. Even when I couldn’t reach that time, I didn’t get upset; I just told myself that I could do it, and that tomorrow was a new day. Right now I ache, like really ache, as in I could cry if you made me walk more than a mile. But I’m so proud of myself that it doesn’t matter. I working hard on doing more exercise and eating healthily, but for someone as picky as me baby steps are the best way forward.

I think that perseverance also ties well into my whole new confidence thing. It is part of the idea that you can do anything, you can achieve things that seem beyond you.

You just have to try and persevere.

Tweet me @writerx9

Email me writerx9@gmail.com

X

Leave a Comment?

