Dealing with stress post depression

This is well rested

|
|
|
|
|

This is tired

|
|
|
|
|
|
This is where I am

I may or may not have nearly dozed off in my chemistry class, walked nearly a quarter of a mile down the road with my eyes closed and gone into a tiny coma in the shower after my work out.
So on my way home from school I was thinking about how I am dealing with and feeling due to this tiredness, stress and general extra work load. Back when I was depressed I would deal with these sorts of things by *honest moment* thinking suicidal thoughts, eating my feelings, crying while I when I was meant to sleeping and worst of all fantasizing. Fantasizing about how great my life would be when I was older, about story lines for books.

But now, I don’t really know how I am coping. For me all those things I did whilst depressed became a knee jerk reaction and I have been conditioning myself to deal with these things in healthier ways. It’s like how drug addicts talk about walking up in the morning and doing a line of cocaine to wake themselves up. A shower would do them a lot more good and works the same way (plus you get to clean yourself and on a cold winters morning warm yourself up).

So I’m off these – to me – drug like coping strategies. And right now my coping strategy is just keep going. Keep working, keep running, keep eating healthy. I think I’m at a point where I don’t need to see the light at the end of the tunnel because I have faith that it’s there. I have faith in myself.

Tweet me @Writer_X9

Email me writerx9@gmail.com

X

3 thoughts on “Dealing with stress post depression

  1. lightthelie says:

    “I think I’m at a point where I don’t need to see the light at the end of the tunnel because I have faith that it’s there. I have faith in myself.” Keep it up. It’s so great to hear optimism 🙂 I have faith in you too!!

Leave a Comment?

