Empty Chairs At Empty Tables (Corsica edition)

 

photo (19)

There’s a grief that can’t be spoken.
There’s a pain goes on and on.
Empty chairs at empty tables
Now my friends are dead and gone.

Here they talked of revolution.
Here it was they lit the flame.
Here they sang about tomorrow
And tomorrow never came.

From the table in the corner
They could see a world reborn
And they rose with voices ringing
And I can hear them now!
The very words that they had sung
Became their last communion
On this lonely barricade at dawn.

Oh my friends, my friends forgive me
That I live and you are gone.
There’s a grief that can’t be spoken.
There’s a pain goes on and on.

Phantom faces at the windows.
Phantom shadows on the floor.
Empty chairs at empty tables
Where my friends will meet no more.

Oh my friends, my friends, don’t ask me
What your sacrifice was for
Empty chairs at empty tables
Where my friends will sing no more


This photo from Corsica reminded me of this song and the old buildings in Les Mis. Obviously this is partly down to the fact Corsica is french but also because it has held onto a large portion of it’s beautiful architecture. Somehow the light captures the beauty of the uneven streets and houses. The beauty of it, is it’s imperfections.

Tweet me @Writer_X9

Email me writerx9@gmail.com

X

 

7 thoughts on “Empty Chairs At Empty Tables (Corsica edition)

    • Writer X says:

      Thank you. I think I took some of the best photos of my life in Corsica. I might even become a photographer when I am older. I know it sounds silly but I do really love this photo for the imperfections x

Leave a Comment?

