I have a dream

As part of my RS class I had to write my own ‘I have a dream speech’, inspired by Martin Luther King Jr. And I thought that I would like to share it with all of you, because your support gives me the confidence to write this sort of thing. 🙂

I have a dream that my daughter and every girl of her generation will be able to walk the streets safely. That they may feel safe no matter their company and that no man will ever, ever be able to touch them without their consent. That all those whom have abused a woman will be brought to justice and their victims will not be blamed for the offence committed against them. That every man who thinks that a wolf whistle is an appropriate gesture towards a woman will be taught otherwise by those around him, rather than being encouraged and pressured by his friends.

I have a dream that womankind shall be treated as mankind’s equal, not his slave, maid or in any way below him. Every woman, in every city, in every country, on every continent, shall be given the right to vote and drive. Every woman will be recognised as a person, with her own opinions, making her own decisions and living her own life. Laws need to be created to protect women and enforce pay equality.

I have a dream that double standards will be a thing of the past. That a woman who is promiscuous will no longer be shamed while a man similar to her is praised. That women will no longer see the unreal expectations of themselves in the media and believe them. That every girl will see that they have at least three amazing assets to their personality and body. And that she shouldn’t value herself on her appearance, but on her inner self. That no more will girls starve and potentially kill themselves in the pursuit of a non-existent perfection.

I have dream that one day someone will listen to this speech just as intently, as if it had been written by a man.

Writer X

writerx9@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “I have a dream

Leave a Comment?

