Boy next door part 10……….a story about love

Start from the beginning here and see part eleven here.

The police had come and they arrested Jack. And I went home. Because what else was I meant to do.

He wasn’t going to lie to them.

So he was going to be taken down.

Hard.

And it was all my fault.

Because if I had just waited a year.

He never forced me, he was always understanding. But it had been my choice and I had chosen wrong. He was going to go to jail because of me. Be on the sex offenders list because of me. Struggle to get a job in the future because of me. Be labeled because of me.

And it isn’t fair. Because I am ok. I MADE the choice MYSELF.

In school they always reinforce the law. They explain that at the age of 16 you are viewed as competent  enough to make your own decisions, to know the difference between right and wrong, to be able to say no. But the law is wrong. Yes I was 15, but that doesn’t account for anything. They say age is just a number, and they are right. Because some 14/15 year olds are more intelligent and ready than some 18 year olds. Because love can’t be defined by laws. Because relationships aren’t perfect. They don’t fit into easy little boxes. You can’t classify them to the nth degree. Yes there had to be an age. But that age shouldn’t be the only thing considered. Look at the relationship between the two people. Find out if someone was forced. Find out why these to people are together. Find out if it is love.

All these things went through my mind as I sat on my window sill looking out at his house. I hate Danielle so much. I hate the world so much.

I remembered the time he had attempted to cook me a meal and ended up nearly burning the kitchen down. I remembered the time we had kisses though the majority of The Great Gatsby and had to re-watch it because it was part of my English project. I remembered the time we had got milkshakes and sat out on the golf course. I remembered the time when I threw my Spanish book at him because I had got an A- on my test and I nearly knocked him over with the force of it.

The phone rang and I jumped of  the sill. I picked up and he was there.

He could hear me crying and comforting me, but I shhhhhed him.

All I could manage was ‘I love you.’

Playlist       writerx9@gmail.com       @Writer_X9

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X.

 

7 thoughts on “Boy next door part 10……….a story about love

  1. passionarts16 says:

    Hi your writing is so good! I kind of need some help, I have written a short story and I would really like some criticism. It’s called Hostages, it’s on my blog thesleepybooknerd.wordpress.com . I would greatly appreciate it. ☺☺☺

Leave a Comment?

