More thoughts on blogging……..Growing and learning

I haven’t been blogging for very long, so I still feel like a complete novice and to be honest I like being the new-ish kid on the block. I feel like recently I have picked up a lot more on certain things to do with blogging and the community:

  1. A lot of the time my favorite content isn’t yours and vice verse – As viewers you guys are the people who judge my work. Most of the time I get between 5-8 likes on a post which is great. I honestly don’t think my posts are worth more than that. Sometimes I get less than 5 likes which doesn’t really bother me. I see it as a kind of constructive criticism. I go away and think about what I can do to produce a better post next time. But sometimes I will get 10-12 likes on post. And when this happens, first of all I feel extremely pleased and give myself a pat on the back. However sometimes I get a little confused because the posts in this category don’t always stand out. My most liked posts are my Mental Health post on suicide and poem called can we fall in love.
  2. You have got to love what you write – My first two short story series The Piccadilly Line and Boy Next Door have taken up a lot of my time and energy. They don’t get the most likes and they aren’t always perfect. So why do I still carry on writing them? Because they made me happy. I often make up short stories in my head and I love to write them down. I mind if they don’t get much recognition, as long as someone can enjoy them.
  3. A blog becomes a diary – Right now in my life I’m recovering from some stuff. And this blog has been one of the most important parts of my recovery. Because I can write totally honestly on here, because only you guys and me are reading it. No teacher, no parents, just us. I think by writing I have learnt to deal with my feelings in a healthy way.
  4. Scheduling is a gods sent – I am so thankful that I can schedule my posts, and I should do it more often. Some nights I’m busy or just really uninspired. So I will schedule a post from a bank of posts I have stored up. It has saved me so my times from leaving odd spaces on here.
  5. Even bloggers need a day off – My days of are Fridays. I normally write at night between 6-9, but on Fridays I spend time hanging out with my friends. I think having some time off helps replenish my stock of thoughts.

Playlist       writerx9@gmail.com       @Writer_X9

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

7 thoughts on “More thoughts on blogging……..Growing and learning

  1. Julie the Workaholic says:

    Well said! My blogging comes and goes in fits and spurts. Random Musings is my virtual home away from home; a safe place where I can get my thoughts out there about whatever might be on my mind at the time. If a lesson can be learned? Great. If I made someone smile or laugh? Even better. I’ll never allow myself to be defined by how many “likes” or followers I have, though, and I love the way you explained why you blog. 🙂 Keep up the great work!!!

  2. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    This was a brilliant read! I love reading your blog, and could only wish to hit like a millions times and for it to count! Stay grounded, and fabulous as ever.

Leave a Comment?

