Please refrain yourself……….I don’t appreciate it

Today on my way home from school it happened again. I got unwanted attention from some guys, but this time it wasn’t a wolf-whistle or a look. The two guys were driving towards me in there van and one made eye contact. I looked away immediately because I could sense what was coming. The one driving gave me a thumbs up and beeped his horn at me.

Now if anyone reading thinks that this is acceptable, you have serious issues. First of all, I am under 18 years old. Therefore if those men attempted any kind of physical harassment with me it could be classed as pedophilia and assault of minor. And may I just say my age was obvious – I was in uniform with my binder and bag. Second of all what they did is disgusting and wrong. They made me feel unsafe and uncomfortable and they have no right to do that. They clearly viewed me as something pretty to look at and use as they pleased. 

I’m a feminist and I hate when this stuff happens to others, but when it happens to me I hate it even more. Because I pushes me down. It makes me feel like no matter how much I do to fill this world with equality, it doesn’t matter because there are always going to be men like this.

Stay strong and remember that men don’t have a right to make you feel weak. You are just as strong as them. You are a powerful woman.

Playlist       writerx9@gmail.com       @Writer_X9

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

9 thoughts on “Please refrain yourself……….I don’t appreciate it

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of this; honestly, it makes me upset. I’ve a friend who is a bit older than me, and she once told me of a similar situation. Seeing the upset in her face – she’s quite tough, but I saw it – wasn’t good.
    Stay strong, and I hope this stops.
    Hugs

    • Writer X says:

      Aww thanks so much. It is awful when this sort of thing happens and it makes me want to stop walking home from school, which is something I love.
      Hugs back
      x

  2. Our Existence says:

    Sorry about what happened hun! I completely understand.. Growing up in India, guys considered it their birth right to harass girls and women alike! Hopefully this makes us stronger to fight for us and others! xx

Leave a Comment?

