Expectation……..a poem about women in the media and their influence

This poem is about about the expectations placed on girls and women in the 21st century and how women in the media spotlight are involved. I apologize for the length. This post was a little rushed as I am going out to a party tonight and need to get it written up quickly.

You are my competitor even though we haven’t met,

You are my comparison reference,

You are my image of perfect,

You are my goal.

I try to fight the expectations you impose,

I try to fight the unobtainable,

I try to fight the expectations society imposes,

I try to fight it all.

But I cannot win,

Because I want to be like you,

Beautiful and bold,

Best in the world.

It’s not fair,

Because you aren’t trying to hurt us,

Any of us,

But you are.

Every photoshopped photo shoot,

Every diet,

Every post on Instagram,

Every interview.

Because the truth is we cannot obtain the unobtainable,

But we will keep trying,

For the is what is expected of us all,

Expectation after expectation.

Playlist                   writerx9@gmail.com

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

One thought on “Expectation……..a poem about women in the media and their influence

Leave a Comment?

