Mental Health……….Depression

I have started a series of posts on mental health and my experiences with certain conditions/problems.If you have a specific topic you would like me to discus I would appreciate you letting me know in the comments.

First of all I would like to say 2 things. Number 1, I am not a professional. I don’t have any letters before my name and I have no training. If you are looking for professional advice contact a doctor or councilor, not some weird teenage girl. Number 2, if you are looking for facts, statistics and proper information about depression this is not the place. I recommend websites like www.mind.org.uk if you are looking for an explanation of depression and facts that are really useful. You are welcome to ask me any questions in the comments and I will do my best to answer. Suicide is a similar subject but it deserves its own post.

I have experience depression in my life. I have been depressed and hopeless before and it is not something I would ever want to go back to. And getting out of depression is like getting out of a maze; everyone gets out in different way and at different speeds. Its ok to make camp in your maze for a bit, if that’s what you have to do. As long as you find your way out in the end.

The general consensus with depression is that someone with it will essentially become a recluse and will lie in bed crying all day. This isn’t always the case. Many people who suffer with depression appear absolutely fine on the surface but are hurting underneath. The main reason for depression; there isn’t one. The causes can range from a loss in the family to just being overwhelmed by work. When I suffered from depression my main trigger was the friendship situation I was in and general long term issues coming to a head in my life.

How to get better? That’s an impossible question to answer. For me my recovery was a struggle and I don’t even know if I am 100% better now. I still have demons that I battle. I think the best way to get better is slowly change your habits. Make a list of positive changes you want to make in your life and trying to complete 1 or 2 a month. If you get to a point where you think there is no point in you existing you have got to do more. Go to counselling and explain to those around you who you trust whats going on. Sitting in the maze alone won’t do you any good.

Playlist                   writerx9@gmail.com

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

2 thoughts on “Mental Health……….Depression

  1. moderndayprincess94 says:

    This was wonderful. I know you would write it in a way anyone can understand. A maze? Perfect symbolism. And different from the cliche “drowning”, though that one IS spot on. Im so glad you’re better and we’ve been able to form this odd friendship ♡

    • Writer X says:

      Awww little online friendship haha. I hate when people use cliches cause drowning makes you think of death and depression isnt all about death.

Leave a Comment?

