Mental Health….Self Harm

I have decided to start a series of posts on mental health and my experiences with certain conditions/problems.If you have a specific topic you would like me to discus I would appreciate you letting me know in the comments section.

First of all I would like to say 2 things. Number 1, I am not a professional. I don’t have any letters before my name and I have no training. If you are looking for professional advice contact a doctor or councilor, not some weird teenage girl. Number 2, if you are looking for facts, statistics and proper information about self harm this is not the place. I recommend websites like www.mind.org.uk if you are looking for an explanation of self harm and facts that are really useful. You are welcome to ask me any questions in the comments and I will do my best to answer.

Now onto the actual content of this post. I don’t have first hand experience of what goes through a self harmer’s mind because in truth I have never self harmed. But I do have experience of being around and close to people who self harm. The first thing that I would like to say about self harm is, don’t straight away go up and ask someone why they have cuts on there wrists or burn marks. Because things aren’t always as they seem. Accidents do happen and people don’t cover up damage to there body caused by accidents. I have a cat and I can tell you first hand how many scratches you can get from playing with cats. So please be aware and sensitive about what you say. The second thing I would like to say is that the best thing you can do if you are close with a self harmer is just be there for them. Talk to them but don’t overwhelm them. The best thing to do is gently ask them how they have been feeling recently and whether or not they have felt like they need to harm themselves. If the answers are short and concise DON’T push them. If they don’t want to talk then they won’t talk.

If you self harm yourself, I want you to know that it really isn’t worth it. Because you might think that punishing yourself is a good idea and you just need to let out the emotion. But the truth is that it hurts the people around you just as much as it hurts you. Every time that blade crosses your wrist, it kills your best friend a little bit inside. Because every time your parents see your scars they hate themselves for not bringing you up well enough.

To all the self harmers who say they feel hopeless and have no one left to care about them. I have have been there, I have been hopeless and you might think no one cares. But I do. I haven’t even met you and I don’t want you to hurt yourself. You know why? Because everyone is beautiful, everyone has a reason live. Make the most you can of your consciousness and love it for what it is.

This is all I have to say so far but I will be adding and updating this post as much as I can. Please leave your questions in the comments.

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

Leave a Comment?

