Quote or quotation…….back to books

While attempting to write my novel I came up with some important quotable phrases I wanted to be in the book. As stupid as it sounds I am obsessed with quotes or quotations or whatever you call them. I always wanted to be someone who could be quoted. But that’s going a bit off topic. So I wanted to share with you some of my favorite quotes and my quotable phrases.

‘We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.’ – Orson Welles. I love this quote because it simultaneously depresses and uplifts me. In the book the main character references this quote and simply adds on at the end ‘So you see it is all an illusion. But at least the illusion makes us happy. So if loving someone doesn’t make you happy then leave, because it was all an illusion anyway.’

‘Love does not begin and end the way we seem to think it does. Love is a battle, love is a war; love is a growing up.’ – James A. Baldwin. This quote reminds me that it is ok to still love someone after your time together is over because you are treating those parts of you wounded in battle.

‘I hope she’ll be a fool — that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.’ – F. Scott Fitzgerald. This quote changed my life for many reasons and I ultimately plan to get some part of it tattooed on my body. I can’t really explain its significance to me without sounding like a philosopher, but I will try. This quote reminds me that innocence and naivety should be treasured,that growing up too fast is not a sensible objective. On many levels it goes against my  feminist views, I believe every woman has a right not be a fool and to be her own person. But the whole quote reminds me that it is ok to revert back to being a silly, foolish girl because in someways that can empower you as well as knock you down.

‘On principle I do not regret, as I know that – as cliché as it sounds – everything that has the potential to become something to regret has made me what I am today. ‘ –  Me. This was one of the quotes that I aimed to put in, where the grammar can be rearranged but it will always give out the same message.

‘The truth is that we do not choose our lots in this life and nothing can ever change that. But we are all blessed with a form of consciousness and we must use it and love for what it is.’ – Me. The purpose of the quote was to show the reader that they need to value their lives more than the characters in the book do. Some of the main characters are reckless and stupid and make bad decisions.

Laugh til you cry, love til you die.

Writer X

Leave a Comment?

